git it in yer soul

1. did you know seattle had a mindblowing soul night? neither did i, until tonight.

2. my parents and i went to the zoo today. i have an irrational but powerful fear of snakes and komodo dragons. little kids looking at big animals are the cutest people on the planet.

3. this band

so good.

4. this man

[jens lekman] is performing in seattle in june and i am going going going. i saw him new york last year… this may be my first instance of concert recidivism, ever. it will be worth it.

5. i’m writing a story that may or may not be harry potter influenced. okay, it is. stop judging me. it’s not all my fault– i’m reading tintin in the new world. influence happens.

6. jonathan goldstein, THE HOST OF WIRETAP (what’s wiretap? whaddaya, not know me at all?) is doing a reading in seattle on monday, and sherman alexie’s doing one across town, which means it will be me and like two other people in the audience, and i might possibly get up the nerve to tell him that lenny bruce is dead was, like, totally a huge inspiration for me, like, as a writer, man.

7. this song

and this song

8. g’night.

One response to “git it in yer soul

  1. Have you heard MGMT’s “Time to Pretend”? It helps me get out of bed most days.

Leave a comment